I am always very excited to try out new recipes which I usually find by doing research on different channels. On one hand I am a big fan of cookbooks and love to read them when I have enough time, looking to every recipe very detailed and mostly my mind is already going through my whole cupboard, thinking if I have all the ingredients already at home, so I could start immediately. Of course I never have all the ingredients at home, its always at least one missing. 🙂 Anyway, I love to go through the pages as most of them are made very nicely with lots of beautiful pictures. I guess it’s everybody’s dream, at least for the ones who are already blogging and sharing their recipes with others, to bring out the best ones into a cookbook. It’s a wonderful thought.

On the other hand I like also doing research on the Internet, because it is just so simple. You can find specific recipes by only searching for 2 or 3 words and the journey begins. Seeing that other people have the same ideas or giving you a lot of new ideas is great. There is nothing like sharing, it’s brilliant!

I have tried so many recipes and there is still a bunch of which I had not the time to post at all. But what I sometimes forget is, that the ones which I have posted already, are also good to be re-created. Once you have a basic recipe you really like, I would say this has to be used definetly again for creating a new recipe. This is what I made with the following recipe. The recipe for the bars is great and therefore I was so motivated to try it with other ingredients. I just changed the almonds to cashews, took banana instead of dates, put in mixed nuts butter instead of only almond butter and added millet pops to the ground mixture. And it does not needed any research at all. 🙂

No matter how somebody is doing research, in the end the result is important. While I am writing this post, I am eating one of these delicious bars. Enjoy! 😉

12adjusted

4adjusted

1adjusted 2adjusted 3adjusted

5adjusted

6adjusted7adjusted8adjusted

Healthy Energy bars adapted from The Bojon Gourmet (recipe adjusted, vegan):

preheat oven to 160 degrees Celsius, line the bottom and sides of an 20×20 cm square baking pan with parchment paper and set aside

110g chopped dried apricots,
150g chopped dried banana,
30g pomegranate pips,
put together in a bowl
1/2 juice of a large orange,
let simmer in a pan over medium heat and toss the juice into the bowl with the dried fruits, stir from time to time while you go further with the recipe
 
100g sliced cashew nuts (toasting optional), plus a few extra for the top which can be set aside to use later on
100g oatmeal,
40g millet pops,
2 tbsp ground flax seeds,
2 tbsp flour (for me spelt flour as usual) 🙂,
1/2 tsp fine sea salt,
1/4 tsp ginger powder,
stir together in a large bowl
 
zest 1/2 of large orange,
100g mixed nuts butter,
4 tbsp olive oil,
5 tbsp maple syrup,
mix first in a seperate bowl and then stir into the dry ingredients until well combined
 
Scrape the mixture into the lined baking pan and use moistened fingers to press it evenly into the pan. Bake for approx. 40 minutes or until golden (I wanted them to be tight when finished, if you want them more soft then bake for 30 minutes). Let cool completely before cutting with a sharp knife into rectangles.

5 thoughts on “going back to the oldies…

  1. urs says:

    they look mega yummy and healthy!

    1. thank you! and have great holidays, enjoy! I guess there are no more left till you are back.. but will do them once again so you can try… 😉

  2. sophiebowns says:

    Oooh!

    1. 😉 thank you for stopping by..

      1. sophiebowns says:

        You’re welcome!

Leave a comment